About Us

Mission Statement of Our Parish
We, the Catholic Community of the Holy Cross Parish, Henderson, empowered by the Holy Spirit, accept and proclaim the Good News and strive to be one in God’s love and to be of service to others.

A brief history
In the 1880’s Priests from the Avondale Parish said Masses in the local Catholic houses in Swanson and Henderson. In about 1900 the first Western district church was built in Swanson. On the 6th of August 1911 Henderson officially received its first Catholic Church. The little wooden building was later extended and on the 16th September 1923 the Church was dedicated to the Exaltation of the Holy Cross. The parish was established as an indepen-dent parish in 1940, covering the areas of Hobsonville, Whenuapai, Massey, Swanson and Henderson. A new and larger brick building, replacing the small wooden one, was opened and blessed on 20th November 1960, the interior of which was changed in 1973. A new church in Ranui, dedicated to St Malachy, was officially opened and blessed by Archbishop Liston in 1966. In 1967 the Massey Parish was established, which now covers part of our former parish area.

Parish locality
Our parish is a constituent parish of the Catholic Diocese of Auckland. To view our parish boundaries, please click here.

Our Parish Personnel
Our parish is served by the Capuchin Friars, an autonomous branch of the Order of Friars Minor, founded by St Francis of Assisi. The Capuchin community lives in the Friary next to the school in 14 Lavelle Road. The Mercy Order has made a Sister available to serve in our parish: Sister Kate Franich, RSM, who lives in 64B Newington Road. A Parish Secretary is now operating from the Friary from 9am to 1pm Monday to Friday.

Our Parish Pastoral Council
The purpose of our Parish Pastoral Council is to build community and serve the people of God in the parish; to work together with the Parish Priest and Pastoral Assistants; to set clear goals to help achieve the parish’ general mission.

Membership and composition
The Parish Pastoral Council consists of the Priest, assistant Priests, Pastoral assistants and at least eight members elected at the A.G.M. of parishioners, held each year in February or March. Also representatives of ethnic commu-nities (Filipino, Maori, Samoan, Tongan,) plus representatives of organiza-tions or standing commit-tees recognized in our parish: Caring Community, Finance, Justice/Peace/Development, Legion of Mary, Liturgy, Passionist Family Groups, Religious Education (RCIA, RCIC, CCD), St Vincent de Paul Society and Works and Maintenance. Also some appointed directly by the Parish Priest after consultation with the Parish Pastoral Council.

Term of Office, meetings and executive
Meetings are held on each first Thursday of the month in the Friary, com-mencing with Mass, and parishioners are welcome to attend. Members serve at least two years to ensure continuity. The executive consists of the Parish Priest, the Chair, vice-Chair and the Secretary.